Personalised Baby Grows

I’m getting to that stage in life where people I know are starting to have babies, and not having children myself I’m never certain what makes a nice gift for someone. Do I go super practical and get the money something I know they will need but might not be that exciting (like a load of nappies, or some vouchers for a shop), or do I buy something sentimental but realistically something they probably don’t need?

dscn2708

So when my friend Mel (fellow blogger on this site) had a beautiful baby I wanted to get something useful, but to personalise it in a way which wouldn’t make it special for her. I made this cute baby grows which I customised for her baby.To start with I deliberately bought baby grows for older babyies (6-9 months) as I knew she would be inundated with gifts for new borns, so this helped to spread the cost as she got older. I also picked blue, because I’m not one for saying that people have to wear specific colours, and it would give her a bit of variety.

To make this project you will need:

– an iron

– iron on transfers or printable iron on transfer paper

– baby clothes with a flat texture, cotton is ideal (I chose baby grows)

– scissors

First iron the clothes to make sure that your transfers have a flat surface to adhere to.  The cut out the transfers you’d like to use and place them onto the clothing, until you have a pattern you are happy with.

 

Once you are happy with your layout then start ironing. You want to ensure that the water reservoir of your iron is empty, and put it to the hottest (but not steaming ) setting. Gradually work from top left to bottom right on the garment, so that you can remove the backing paper as you go, and avoid burning your new creation. Follow the instructions that come with your product. I found that I needed to heat the paper for about twice as long as the guidance said. Make sure you are applying an even pressure to help bond the details to the clothing. You will know when you have heated it enough as the backing paper should come away easily. I found that it was easier to test a corner of each piece of paper, by gently pulling it up, and if it didn’t come away I just heated for as little longer and tried again. If you are doing finer details I would recommend pulling from the edge of the paper with the least detail to the more heavily detailed edge to prevent tearing the picture. For example if you were doing a letter ‘W’ you would pull from the bottom edge with two points up to the top edge which has three, as it would be less likely to tear than if you did it the other way round.

dscn2707dscn2706dscn2704

Once you are done then the only thing that remains is to wrap the present.

I hope you enjoyed this, and let me know what you made with yours, Kate x

Leave a Reply

